Evening. Public bar. The stonemason. His friend. They’ve been drinking heavily. The stonemason is reading a newspaper

– What do these people know? who ever told them they knew anything? I know things too

Pause

Here’s a guy who got stabbed in the eye! here’s someone who works for the poor!

He turns a page

Here’s someone who flies model aeroplanes he’s World Champion!

He turns a page. He reads

‘The African wild dog long persecuted as vermin is down to a few thousand but it may not be too late for a rescue’ that’s interesting

He turns a page

Here’s a man sent to prison for twenty years

Pause

You  got any prior convictions? yeah I got prior convictions what have you done? armed aggravated resisting are you sorry? yes I’m sorry we’re going to lock you up now down the slot you’re locked up you’re locked in you’re locked out now lick my balls yes sir stick this up your arse thank you don’t mention it be a good boy I will thank you

Pause

I wish I could stop talking to myself

scissors, paper, rock (scene 12, excerpt), Daniel Keene

